About me & The MANY LIVES Futureverse

I had an awesome time launching TV channels for MTV and NBCUniveral (Syfy) around the world, when a near death experience convinced me to get writing, NOW.

A one-time journalist with The Independent, I have since published fast paced action thrillers with a dash of romance and a touch of the fantastical such as the multi award winning The Ruby Iyer Series. Featured among the top five women in media in India Today, I also blog for the Huffington Post, have written for The Guardian and been featured in publications including The Times of India, The Economic Times, The Telegraph and Verve. 

Married to a filmmaker and fellow author, my life often resembles a dramedy of errors film script.  I am an avid street art photographer, and the proud owner of  @laxmi

Find me  also on Instagram FB |  @laxmi | Amazon 
For a free copy of The Ruby Iyer Diaries, subscribe to my newsletter here


Answers to some frequently asked questions about the MANY LIVES FUTUREVERSE

1. How did I conceive Ruby Iyer?
When a young photojournalist was raped in the centre of Bombay in broad daylight a few years ago. It made me furious. But what could I do about it?  Then, I had a vision of a young girl who would not back down; who would follow her instincts, stand up for herself, regardless of consequences. Thus Ruby Iyer was born.

2. Why should YOU read the RUBY IYER DIARIES?
This 10,000 words novelette, is an easy, low commitment way for you to decide if you want to invest more time in reading the series.

4. What is the MANY LIVES Futureverse?
The MANY LIVES Futureverse begins with the story of Ruby Iyer and Vikram Roy in Bombay 2014-15. It extends to their progeny, with stories set in Bombay & London 2035 and Bombay & London 2060.  It also covers the story of Ruby's Ma, Kay Braganza set in the early '90s.

The books planned in the Futureverse include:
  • Elusive Life -The Story of Kay Bragana, Ruby's Ma
  • Secret Life- The Story of Pankaj Mehta. Through his story explore what it means to grow up as a gay boy in Bombay
  • Shoot The Moon, the story of Jai Iyeroy, Ruby and Vikram's son, set in Bombay 2035. This one's an out and out action thriller/love story. When Jai Iyeroy falls in love with Ariana West he must turn his back on everything he is to win back her trust.
  • UnTamed Life -  The Story of Leana Iyeroy, Ruby and Vikram's granddaughter, set in Bombay 2060.  A magic-realist, action, coming-of-age tale. 
  • As new characters emerge, I will follow the thread and unravel their stories too.
5. What connects all the books in the MANY LIVES Futureverse?
Ruby Iyer's story is connected to that of Catherine of Braganza, the Portuguese princess in whose dowry Charles II received the seven islands of Bombay. Catherine's sword has the power to control nature if and only if it is used by her direct illegitimate bloodline, for there is no record of her having had children.  As each generation after Ruby comes of age, turns eighteen and inherits the sword, their story is triggered.

6. Is it Mumbai or Bombay?
The city changed its name in 1995. I grew up in Bombay and the MANY LIVES futureverse is also set in Bombay, now a city that does not exist in the real world.

7. Why do I write?
I write to understand myself.

8. What you can expect from my books?
I believe you will find yourself reflected in one or perhaps many of my characters. I hope my stories will help you understand yourself better, help you unravel your own life motivations, just as I peel back the layers of my life when I write.

9. What is my style of writing called?
My style is 'Suzanne Collins meets Haruki Murakami.' Magic realist, fantastical, action thrillers, with young protagonists as heroes.  I have also been called a mainstream Angela Carter

10. What is the suggested order of reading the MANY LIVES FUTUREVERSE
This is the suggested reading order. Each book is a stand alone in the series.
This is the suggested reading order
The Ruby Iyer Diaries

Still to come
Elusive Life
Second Lives
Secret Life
Shoot The Moon Series

Now out
UnTamed Life: The Story of Wolfgirl Leana Iyeroy. A stand alone story in the RUBY IYER universe.  Part of the UnCommon Bodies Anthology

10. How to reach me? 
Receive a free copy of THE RUBY IYER DIARIES when you sign up to my newsletter http://bit.ly/NewsletterLH
Follow Laxmi on Amazon amazon.com/author/laxmihariharan

Post a Comment